Who is the American Sikh Committee?

The American Sikh Committee to Evaluate Congressional Candidates is an ad hoc organization formed by Sikhs from across the United States.  The purpose of the Committee is to survey congressional candidates for the purpose of providing information to the Sikh community that they can rely upon in deciding to which candidates they will provide financial and electoral support.

The Committee was formed in March 2013 for the sole purpose of administering this questionnaire and distributing the results to the community without editorial comment.  Listed below are the committee members:

Sample cover letter


Congressional Questionnaire

On April 2, 2014, the Committee sent a cover letter and questionnaire to congressional representatives.  These documents are provided at the following links:

Cover Letter

Congressional Questionnaire from American Sikh Committee to Evaluate Congressional Candidates

The letter and questionnaire were sent to the Congressional Representatives listed below. Click on the ‘Response’ to see their written answers to the questionnaire.

California CA-1 Congressman Doug LaMalfa Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-3 Congressman John Garamendi Democrat (Garamendi Response)
California CA-3 Assemblymember Dan Logue Republican (Logue Response)
California CA-4 Congressman Tom McClintock Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-4 Art Moore Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-6 Congresswoman Doris Matsui Democrat (Matsui Response)
California CA-7 Congressman Ami Bera Democrat (Bera Response)
California CA-7 Igor Birman Republican (Birman Response)
California CA-7 Doug Ose Republican (Ose Response)
California CA-7 Elizabeth Emken Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-9 Congressman Jerry McNerney Democrat (McNerney Response)
California CA-15 Congressman Eric Swalwell Democrat (Swalwell Response)
California CA-15 Senator Ellen Corbett Democrat (refused to respond)
California CA-16 Congressman Jim Costa Democrat (Costa Response)
California CA-16 Steve Crass Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-16 Johnny Tacherra Republican (refused to respond)
California CA-17 Congressman Michael Honda Democrat (Honda Response)
California CA-17 Ro Khanna Democrat (Khanna Response)
California CA-17 Vanila Singh Republican (V. Singh Response)

Wisconsin WI-1 Congressman Paul Ryan Republican (refused to respond)
Wisconsin WI-1 Amardeep Kaleka Democrat (Kaleka Response)

Hawaii HI-2 Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard Democrat (refused to respond)